Fresh Memory
Versions: 1.4 | 1.3 | 1.2 | 1.1

13. Activation

Fresh Memory must be activated after the installation. The activation requires a Product Key, which is sent by email after purchasing the application.

One purchased license allows activation on 3 computers. However, it is limited for personal usage of one user or his/her family. Friends, co-workers etc. must purchase their own licenses. Additional licenses for the same user can be bought with a 20% discount. Upgrade to the next version gives discount of 2 €. Find the Discount code in the purchase confirmation email.

The license is permanent: after it is purchased, the application can be used forever. The application can be re-activated on the same computer many times (without using another free activation). Thus, it is possible to re-activate Fresh Memory after re-installation of the operating system.

The application offers a trial period for 15 days. During this period, Fresh Memory can be used free of charge and with its full functionality. After the trial period expires, the application must be purchased to continue using it.

  • One license is for 3 computers of one user
  • Additional licenses: -40%
  • Upgrade to the next version: -2 €
  • Trial period: 15 days

13.1. Activating with product key

On the first launch, Fresh Memory will show the Activation dialog. Enter your Product key for activation (it can be copied directly from the email).

_images/activation_dialog.png

Activation dialog

Click Activate button to activate. If you want to try out the application before purchase, click Free trial button. In order to buy a license, click Buy now button, which will open the purchase page at Fresh Memory web site.

During the activation, Fresh Memory needs an Internet connection.

Changed in version 1.4.0: Offline activation (without Internet) is no longer supported.

The application sends the product key and the computer hardware information to the Fresh Memory server, and receives the License file, which is saved on the computer. The license file is created for the specific computer and contains information about the activated hardware. On each start, the application checks if its license matches the computer it is running on.

The license request and response are always encrypted to protect the user data. The received license file is kept at the computer in an encrypted form too. The license is decrypted only inside the application, during the checking process.

If the product key is correct, the activation succeeds. The dialog shows that the application is now activated:

_images/activation_dialog_activated.png

The application is successfully activated

If the application cannot be activated on this computer, the dialog shows an error message.

Successfully activated application shows the license information at the bottom of About dialog: Help ‣ About. The user full name and the activation date are shown.

_images/about_activated.png

About dialog shows the license information

Pressing License button opens a web page with the license text.

13.2. Trial mode

To start the trial period, click Free trial button in the Activation dialog. It will open a web page with a product key for the trial. Enter the displayed key to the dialog and press Activate. The dialog will show the activated trial mode. It is still possible to activate with the product key in this mode, see below.

_images/activation_dialog_trial.png

The application is activated in trial mode

In trial mode, the trial beginning and expiration dates are shown at the bottom of About dialog: Help ‣ About. From here, it is possible to activate with the product key or to buy a license. Enter product key button opens the Activation dialog for the product key. And Buy now button opens the purchase page in the web browser.

_images/about_trial.png

About dialog shows the trial mode information

Fresh Memory will work in the trial mode 15 days and allow to use its full functionality without any restriction. After this period expires, the application will again ask to activate with the Activation dialog. The user can buy a license, and continue using the application. Re-starting the trial after it expires is not be possible at the same computer. The trial mode can be enabled on different computers independently of each other. Try this application on as many computers as you like.

When the trial period expires, the application will show the Activation dialog with message “Your trial period is expired”. At this dialog, it is possible to activate the application or to buy a license.

In the trial mode, the application will sometimes show a reminder about expiration of the trial period, see figure below. This is just a reminder, you can continue using Fresh Memory normally.

_images/trial_reminder.png

Reminder about trial period

13.3. License backup

It is possible to backup the license. It can be useful for quick re-activation of the program after, for example, re-installation of the operating system. This doesn’t require Internet connection. However, the usual online re-activation with entering the same Product key is always possible.

Find the license file “license.bin” at this path and save to a safe place:

  • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<User>\Application data\freshmemory
  • Windows 7: C:\Users\<User>\AppData\Roaming\freshmemory
  • Linux: ~/.config/freshmemory

Later you can restore the license by copying it back to the same directory.

Remember that the restored license will work only on the same computer.


The text of this website is available for modification and reuse under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-Sharealike 3.0 Unported License and the GNU Free Documentation License (unversioned, with no invariant sections, front-cover texts, or back-cover texts).